The Gospel According to Coco Chanel

For Christmas, John bought me a book I had been wanting to read – The Gospel According to Coco Chanel. Up until our trip to Michigan I’d read a few pages and was enjoying it, but with all of the time in the car on that trip I got a chance to read some more and now I am loving it!

It’s a light, fun read that gives you some insight into who Coco really was and all that she did for the fashion world. It’s nothing too in-depth, but it is certainly entertaining and informative! Plus, they have a lot of great horse/equestrian references and, as a once-avid equestrian, I’m all about that!

“Clearly, the greatest life lesson in this book is that knowing how to ride a horse will never fail to impress.”

“…as anyone who has horses in her life knows, for every hour in the saddle there are hours and hours of cooling down, bathing, brushing, hoof picking, etc.”

Both so true.

Anyhow, all of this thinking of Chanel leaves me lusting over her tweedy jackets and 2.55 bags wanting to decorate our formal room with stately equestrian inspired things and images of horses. I am so indecisive.

(Image courtesy of http://www.horchow.com)

Are there any great fashion reads on your shelf? I think my next purchase will be a coffee table/fashion photography book about Carolina Herrera…

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion

One response to “The Gospel According to Coco Chanel

  1. I think it’s high time you start promoting this sucker now…it looks GREAT!

Leave a Reply

