Okra. Fresh from the garden…

Well, not our garden – our neighbors. I wouldn’t let John plant one this spring because we were just moving into the house and had so many things on our to-do list. I didn’t figure it would be smart to tear up the yard and spend our time tending to a garden when we had about a million other things to do. I maintain that I was correct in this decision. John would tell you otherwise.

But that’s not the point. The point is that our neighbors have a garden, which is like having one of our own, but without the work because they always have too much of whatever is becoming ripe and share with us. This week it was okra  (and a few tomatoes and some cucumbers).

I tried my hand at cooking it for the first time on Sunday evening (maybe??) and, let’s just say, it wasn’t so good. We ended up tossing all but about 3 bites of it.

Tonight I did a little online hunting for a recipe that used only ingredients we had in the house and stumbled upon this Oven Fried Okra recipe from Burp! Recipes (haha) and decided it was the winner even though I didn’t have a few of the ingredients. I stopped at the store on the way home to pick up tomatoes (for salad) and some cornmeal. The store I stopped at didn’t have cornmeal and in a moment of genius decided that corn muffin mix was probably the same thing – that is until I went home and read the ingredient list and realized it had things like ‘baking soda’ in it… I made the executive decision to skip this in the recipe (since I didn’t plan on following it closely anyway) and make the muffins on their own! Yum.

Oven Fried Okra (adapted from Burp! Recipes)

1/2 (ish) all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 lb (ish) fresh okra, cleaned and chopped into 1/2 inch rounds
1 egg whites, beaten
olive oil spray
dipping sauce of choice

Preheat oven to 450ºF
Mix flour, spices, salt and pepper in a gallon-sized plastic bag and set aside. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil spray.

Dip okra into beaten egg white, then place in bag of flour mixture. Shake to coat, and arrange on baking sheet. Coat with olive oil spray.

Place baking sheet on the center rack of the oven and bake for 7 minutes. Flip the okra and continue baking for about 5 minutes (or until tender and golden brown.)

Serve hot. These are good plain or with your choice of dipping sauce.

Enjoy! I think if the opportunity arises (maybe at my parents house) in the future, I’ll try to make these again. They were really good!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Okra. Fresh from the garden…

  1. MMMmmmm if you have any leftover Okra you’d like to share, you know where I work 🙂

Leave a Reply

